7 Fascinating Facts About Twitter’s Co-Founder & Billionaire ~ Jack Dorsey


jack-dorseyJack Dorsey is the 36-year-old mastermind behind Twitter and mobile credit card reader, Square. Last year, when Square became valued at more than $3 billion, Dorsey became a billionaire. He’s been compared to Steve Jobs as one of the most innovative minds in technology.

  1. Jack Dorsey doesn’t have a desk. Instead of a desk, Dorsey uses an iPad. That’s it!
  2. Growing up, Jack Dorsey had a speech impediment. To this day, Dorsey isn’t a comfortable communicator. “I can be silent at some times which unsettles people a bit, because they don’t know what I’m thinking,” he tells 60 Minutes. “Do I feel like I’m an expert in having a normal conversation face-to-face? Absolutely not. That’s just not my natural state.”
  3. Dorsey was really into trains and maps as a kid. He used to spend hours at the train yards. When he was a teenager, he built a way to track emergency vehicles on a map.
  4. He also used to listening to emergency dispatches on a police scanner. Those experiences inspired him to create Twitter. “They’re always talking about where they’re going, what they’re doing and where they currently are. And that is where the idea for Twitter came was now we all have these cell phones. And suddenly we could update where I was, what I’m doing, where I’m going, how I feel. And then it would go out to the entire world.”
  5. Dorsey finds it a little offensive when he’s called a nerd. Forbes called him a nerd in a recent article. Even though the publication meant it to be endearing, Dorsey wasn’t pleased. [I found it] insulting,’ Dorsey says. “[That] I’m ‘more of a nerd than Steve Jobs.’ I think the reference was because I was a programmer. So if that is the nerdy way, then guilty. I’m a nerd.
  6. To inspire employees, Dorsey takes them to the Golden Gate Bridge. Specifically, he takes them to Land’s End. He thinks good software should operate like a bridge. People shouldn’t be thinking about the engineering behind it. They should think of it as functional and simple. “We see the bridge as like this perfect intersection between art and engineering. It has pure utility, in that people commute on it every single day,” he says. “When people come to Twitter and they want to express something in the world, the technology fades away.”
  7. Jack Dorsey first moved to Manhattan when he was 19. He aspires to be the city’s mayor someday. “[New York City is] kinda like being in a car in the middle of a thunderstorm, right,” says Dorsey. “Everything is raging around you, but you’re safe inside that car. So New York feels very much to me like that.”

For more posts/articles on Music, Mirth, Moments & Money, please visit my blog – http://4ms.in/

About The 4Ms – Music Mirth Moments Money

Hi Guys!!! There are two parts of me — Professional:- I am a marketing & sales person. I started my career as a trainee and worked my way up to Head of Marketing and Sales over the years. I am a Marketing Communications & Financial Investment Consultant. Personal:- I am a hardcore pure blue-blooded “Bandra Boy”. 🙂 For those who don’t know — Bandra is a suburb of Bombay. It is called the Queen of Bombay suburbs. But to me, Bandra is the king of all places. And yes, I still prefer to use the word “Bombay” (instead of Mumbai). “Bombay” has more “namakh” personality and character! Guys, there comes a time in every person’s life when she/he wonders and introspects about one’s professional & personal life. How much is your work keeping you away from your loved ones? Is there sweetness and quality to your life? Is there contentment & satisfaction about the way your life has shaped up? Are there unfinished or unstarted things that you wanted to do when you embarked on your life journey? Do you have enough money stashed away for your retirement, for that dreaded “rainy” day, for your family fun time, for your children’s studies and marriage? The questions are many and most times, the answers are in the negative. In fact, many times, we don’t even know the right answers. Fact is, neither do I know most of the answers. Most of us are pretty much in the same boat. 😉 Through this blog, I will try to assist you, entertain you and keep you informed to the best of my ability and as accurately as possible. Hope you enjoy yourselves. Please do let me have your feedbacks, suggestions and comments. Thank you & Take care! 🙂 Porus D. Tavadia
This entry was posted in Moments and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.